Candidates file for upcoming elections

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Nearly a dozen candidates have already signed up for the April municipal and school board elections. On Tuesday, six new candidates and five incumbents filed for the spring elections.

Cassville South Ward Alderman Terry Heinz has filed for re-election to the city council. North Ward Alderman Darrell Ledenham has not yet filed.

The Seligman City Council race has attracted two new candidates. Ed Carrothers and Gerald Harling have filed for an east ward alderman seat currently held by Michael Steen, who has not filed for re-election.

Seligman West Ward Alderman Kelly Payne, who was appointed to fill a seat vacated by Latisha Pippin, has also not yet filed for re-election.

Although Rex Coffey, Purdy ward one alderman, and Ken Real, Purdy ward two alderman, have not filed for re-election, the race has attracted one new candidate. Ron Gray has filed for the ward one alderman's seat.

No candidates have filed for seats on the Exeter, Wheaton or Butterfield city councils. Washburn's filing information was unavailable at press time.

The following candidates will also be leaving local councils if they do not file for re-election: Jeff Scott, Exeter south ward alderman; Keith Johnson, Exeter north ward alderman; Stacy Beck, Wheaton west ward alderman; Donnie Pierpont, Wheaton east ward alderman; Tony Cope, Butterfield mayor; Francis Hobbs, Butterfield west ward alderman; and Carrol Hayes, Butterfield east ward alderman.

School board elections

Of the six local school board races, only one features unopposed incumbents, and two races have yet to attract a single candidate.

Incumbents John Sullivan and Carolyn Bowen are seeking new three-year terms on the Cassville R-4 School Board.

Exeter School Board member Sammy Hudson-Schmidt will face off against challengers Jeff Hobbs and Gene Robbins. Incumbent Natalie Mosely is also up for re-election.

The Shell Knob School Board election has attracted one new name. Katherine Marcum has filed for a seat on the board. Incumbents Bob Stewart and Lisa Fielder have not yet filed for re-election.

Incumbent Robert Catron has filed for re-election to the Southwest R-5 School Board. Incumbent Danny Dalton has not yet filed for another term on the board.

No candidates have filed for the Wheaton or Purdy school boards. Wheaton School Board members up for re-election are Doug Goostree and Bobby Banks. Purdy School Board incumbents are Randy Henderson and Ken Terry.

Filing for the municipal and school board offices opened on Dec. 13. Candidates must file for the election by Jan. 17, 2012. The election is scheduled to be held on April 3, 2012.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: