Wildcats lead list of All-Big 8 Conference honors

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

A host of Cassville Wildcats have been named to the All-Big 8 Conference football team for the 2011 season.

Leading the list of honored players are senior quarterback Ricky Nichols, who was tapped as 2011 Offensive Player of the Year, and senior Justin Pflug, who was named Co-Defensive Player of the Year for 2011. Wildcat head coach David Large also was honored as Big 8 Coach of the Year after his squad went 7-0 in the Big 8 to win the championship.

Other Wildcats named to the All-Big 8 first team were: senior Kyle Brattin, running back (unanimous choice); Nichols, quarterback (unanimous choice); Pflug, offensive guard (unanimous choice) and defensive end; senior Josh Lannum, offensive tackle; senior Trey Rose, wide receiver and defensive back (unanimous choice); senior Garrett Barnes, kicker; senior Stanton Stringer, linebacker (unanimous choice); junior Garrett Kirk, defensive back; and junior Stone Phelps, punter.

Cassville players named to the second team All-Big 8 list were: junior Drew Henbest, defensive tackle; junior Cody Frana, linebacker; and sophomore Hayden Prater, linebacker.

Honorable mention selections for Cassville were: junior Chris Dunker, running back; junior Josh Carlton, offensive guard; and junior Jake Sizemore, defensive tackle.

The rest of the list

A complete list of All-Big 8 honors is listed below minus the Cassville players listed above.

First team: senior Everett Basham, Aurora, running back and linebacker; senior Markell White, Lamar, running back and return specialist; junior Austin Boice, offensive tackle; senior A.J. Eaves, Lamar, offensive guard; senior Jarred Childress, Monett, center; junior Jalon Skaggs, Seneca, wide receiver and defensive back; junior Kurran Blamey, Monett, wide receiver; senior Matt Schiffner, Monett, tight end; senior Brett Campbell, Lamar, all purpose back; senior Lucas Guthrie, Aurora, defensive end; senior Zakk Yokley, Lamar, defensive tackle and Co-Defensive Player of the Year; senior Jesse Galloway, Aurora, defensive tackle; junior Jade Morgan, Lamar, linebacker; senior Dalton Lindsey, Seneca, linebacker; and junior Shane Williams, defensive back.

Second team: sophomore Levi Peterson, Lamar, quarterback; junior Shane Williams, Mt. Vernon, running back and kicker; junior Marty Mailes, Seneca, running back; junior Aaron Hall, Monett, running back; senior Jacob Wall, Carl Junction, offensive tackle and defensive end; senior Lucas Guthrie, Aurora, offensive tackle; senior Jacob Haskins, Lamar, offensive guard; senior Jeff Craft, Monett, offensive guard; senior Tyler Hough, Carl Junction, center; senior Tyler Green, Monett, wide receiver; senior Cedric Gartman, Lamar, wide receiver; junior J. Thomas, Carl Junction, wide receiver; junior Kyler Ng, Seneca, wide receiver; sophomore Sam Bailey, Lamar, tight end; sophomore JT Tucker, Lamar, defensive end; senior John Hansen, East Newton, defensive end; junior Montana Cooper, Seneca, defensive tackle; senior Carter Huffmaster, Monett, linebacker; junior Matt Murphy, Monett, linebacker; senior Michael Helms, Aurora, linebacker; senior Jaron McCully, East Newton, defensive back; senior Cory Lear, Lamar, defensive back; sophomore Jared Beshore, Lamar, defensive back; junior Kurt Hadlow, Aurora, defensive back; senior Dalton Bailey, Lamar, senior; and junior Kurran Blamey, Monett, return specialist.

Honorable mention: junior Clayton Sumners, Aurora, quarterback; senior Jaron McCully, East Newton, running back; sophomore Jared Beshore, Lamar running back; sophomore Ben Bailey, Lamar, offensive tackle; junior Reece Bounous, Monett, offensive tackle and defensive end; junior Tyler Richardson, Mt. Vernon, offensive tackle; junior Brett Roark, Seneca, offensive tackle; junior Josh McCulloch, Aurora, offensive tackle; sophomore Mac Yust, Seneca, offensive guad; senior Gus Werries, East Newton, center; junior Drew Parker, Aurora, wide receiver; junior Jordan Fronabarger, Aurora, wide receiver; senior Zack Keckler, Aurora, tight end; senior Tyler Green, Monett, all purpose back; freshman Colby Thomas, East Newton, kicker; senior Jeff Craft, Monett, defensive tackle; sophomore Calvin Bremmerkamp, Carl Junction, linebacker; senior Ammon Allphin, East Newton, linebacker; junior Chad Rice, Lamar, linebacker; junior Zach Swearingen, Monett, defensive back; senior Trevor Sill, Seneca, defensive back; junior Marty Mailes, Seneca, defensive back; senior Matt Magee, Carl Junction, defensive back; senior Manuel Rios, Aurora, punter; and junior Shane Williams, Mt. Vernon, return specialist.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: