R-4 SD passes reviews in grant process

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

The Cassville R-4 School Board received an update on a Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) project at its regularly scheduled meeting on Aug. 11.

Last year, the district applied for a FEMA grant that will provide 70 percent of the funding needed to construct a storm shelter on the R-4 campus. Cassville has remained a candidate for the funding by passing the first and second reviews in the grant application process.

"We applied for this before the tornado happened in Joplin," said Superintendent Richard Asbill. "That makes it more evident that we need a place that can withstand storms to protect our children and teachers."

If the district receives the 70/30 matching grant, the old middle school field house will be demolished to make space for the storm shelter. Once the project is complete, the shelter will serve as a multipurpose facility also.

"We will need to build the facility according to specific requirements," said Asbill. "It will need to have the right concrete, a back-up power system and restrooms capable of serving a certain number of students.

"If we receive approval for the project, we are still a year and a half away from completion of a storm shelter," said Asbill. "It will likely be 18 to 20 months before that facility opens."

In other business, the board approved the employment of 86 substitute teachers.

Substitute teachers for the 2011-12 school year include: John Anderson, Sarah Bacon, Cynthia Beeson, Robyn Bowers, Rose Bray, Karen Brown, Ken Brown, Neal Brown, Craig Burford, Angel Christy, Thomas Coenen, Bonnie Cox, Megan Cox, Carolyn Craig, Sue Craig, Gary Davis and Kimberly Durossette.

Doug Edwards, Amanda Ennis, Patricia Evans, Jack Farrow, Sharon Farrow, Matt Frazier, Ashley Fly, Jim Garrison, Rebecca Golubski, Donna Gracy, Dove Haney, Walt Hasler, Toni Hayes, Heather Hays, Rita Hightower, Bettie Holman, Paula Holtzman, Michael Holycross, Darla Horner and Frank Hudson.

Stephanie Jacobson, Wendie Kryselmire, Sue Lacey, Pete Landstad, Ruby Lawrence, Bill Lee, Diane Linebarger, John Lueckenhoff, Steve Lyons, Teresa Martin, Austin McCracken, Brandon McCullough, Bart McMaster, Becky McNaught, Steve McNaught, Kelsey Moncrief and Donna Moore.

Judith Olson, Russ Pendergraft, Anita Philbrick, Susan Richardson, Randy Robertson, Mary Rogers, Rita Rogers, Sarah Roper (Miner), Chris Seymour, Raeleena Sheeler, Christine Shepherd, Cheri Shumaker, Sally Sick, Vaughn Smith, Judie Starchman, Natalie Stearns, Janet Sullivan and Dana Switzner.

Stacy Taliaferro, Julie Terry, Kathryn Thomas, Carl Tilley, Gail Towers, Max (Burl) Towler, Rita Trickel, Greg Turner, Steven Tygart, Glenda Wahlert, Tamara Wallace, Destiny Wilson, Dick Worman and Joseph Zucca.

In other business, the Cassville R-4 School Board:

* Evaluated the middle school and high school cheerleading and transportation programs.

* Heard a report on summer maintenance projects.

* Approved the 2010-11 annual secretary of the board report.

* Approved the local tax rate as presented by Asbill. The incidental rate was set at $2.90, and the debt service was set at 37 cents.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: