Barry County voters to decide contested races

Thursday, March 31, 2011

Cassville, Seligman, Exeter and Purdy voters will have some tough decisions to make next week. The April 5 general election ballot will feature three contested school board and two contested municipal elections.

Cassville R-4 School Board incumbents David Haddock and Becky Henningson will face off against challengers Jon Horner, Wade Hermansen and John Lueckenhoff. Three seats are available on the board. Incumbent Danny Buchanan did not file for re-election.

At Exeter, four candidates are vying for three seats on the R-2 Board. Incumbent Kerry Mattingly will be challenged by Amy Cole, Larry Meyer and Mike Cole. Incumbents Bobbi Vanzandt and Jeston Scott did not refile.

Although four candidates will appear on the Purdy R-2 School Board ballot, challenger Alexandra Efremidou (Miller) announced her withdrawal from the race on March 19. Incumbents Ronnie Veith, Russ Neill and Mike Bennett are seeking re-election.

Southwest R-5 School Board incumbents Albert Pendergraft, Pete Rose and Jeremy Bernard and Wheaton R-3 School Board incumbents Larry Prewitt, Landon Brattin and Lewis Royer will retain their seats.

Shell Knob School Board members Howard Trimble and Roger Pinnell are running unopposed. Another open seat on the board will be filled by newcomer Jacqueline Backes.

Municipal elections

Area voters will also decide two contested municipal elections.

Purdy Mayor Ron Dutra will face off against challenger Ron Gray. Ward One Alderman Steve Roden is being challenged by newcomer Sean Priest, and Ward Two Alderman Wayne Rupp is running against challenger Jose Perez-Salas.

In Seligman, Mayor Jerry Montgomery will be challenged by Jason Raucstadt. The city's west ward alderman ballot will also feature two names, incumbent James Bottorff and challenger Eric Freeman.

The remaining five municipal races will feature unopposed candidates.

Cassville Mayor Tracy Holle and North Ward Alderman Bill Hill are running unopposed. Newcomer Jeff Parsons will join the council as south ward alderman.

Mayor John Tiedeman, West Ward Alderman Pat Rose and East Ward Alderman Mary Roller will return to the Washburn City Council. Newcomer Chloe Weathers, who filed for a one-year term, will join the council next month.

Butterfield West Ward Alderman Guadalupe Meza will retain her seat, and Mark Thomas will join the council as east ward alderman.

The Exeter City Council will retain its current council members. Incumbents Rusty Reed, mayor, Rhonda Scott, south ward alderman, and Jimmie Morse, north ward alderman, are the only candidates who filed for the upcoming election.

Wheaton Mayor Donnie Powell, West Ward Alderman Naomi Young and East Ward Alderman David Shockley are also running unopposed.

Candidate questionnaires for each of the contested races are featured on pages 20 and 21 of this week's edition of the Cassville Democrat.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: