Incumbents re-elected

Thursday, April 8, 2010

On Tuesday, Barry County voters re-elected all city council and school board incumbents who filed for the April election. Seligman voters also approved a one-quarter-cent tax that will be used for park maintenance and improvement projects.

Municipal races

Cassville City Council South Ward Alderman Terry Heinz narrowly defeated challenger Greg Allen. Heinz received 52 votes compared to Allen's 45 votes. Cassville voters also cast 69 votes for Darrell Ledenham, who was running unopposed for a north ward alderman seat.

Although Washburn voters were presented with uncontested races for two open council seats, incumbents Sherry Cox and Ray Hayworth, who did not file for re-election, received several write-in votes.

Voters elected Sherry Cox over Mary Roller for an open east ward alderman seat. Cox received 14 write-in votes, and Roller received 13 votes. Gerald Hinde received 25 votes, and Ray Hayworth received 25 write-in votes for an open west ward alderman seat.

Butterfield voters re-elected current council members Tony Cope, mayor, Carrol Hayes, east ward alderman, and Frances Hobbs, west ward alderman. Exeter City Council members Keith Johnson, north ward alderman, and Jeff Scott, south ward alderman, will also retained their seats.

Voters in Purdy re-elected Ward One Alderman Rex Coffey and Ward Two Alderman Kenneth Real. Seligman City Council members Jerry Montgomery, mayor, Michael Steen, east ward alderman, and Latisha Pippin, west ward alderman, were awarded new two-year terms.

Even though only 17 voters turned out for elections held in Wheaton, voters unanimously re-elected current council members Donnie Pierpont, east ward alderman, and Stacy Beck, west ward alderman.

School board races

Voters who live in the Exeter, Purdy and Southwest school districts also chose to retain current school board members.

Exeter R-VI patrons re-elected incumbents Melvin Lacey and Eric O'Neill over challengers Tracie Cole and Lisa Newman. Lacey received the most votes with 107. He was followed by O'Neill, who received 95 votes. Cole who received 36 votes, and Newman who received 40 votes.

Purdy R-II School Board patrons supported incumbent Tracy Tate over challengers Lenni Wood, Angela Moore, David Young and Mike Roller. Voters also elected Ed Mareth to a seat that was previously held by Kelly Hayes, who did not file for re-election.

Mareth received the most votes with 158. He was followed by Tate, who received 139. Roller earned 77 votes, Young received 62 votes, Wood tallied 24 votes and Moore received 18 votes.

The Southwest R-V School Board also awarded its incumbent candidates two more years on the board. Bobby Stephens won 249 votes, and Robert Shockley earned 193 votes. Challenger Angie Corn received 145 votes, which was not enough to secure a seat on the board.

Seligman park tax issue

Seligman voters narrowly approved a one-quarter-cent parks tax that will pay for maintenance and improvements. The issue received 33 "yes" votes and 30 "no" votes.

Overall, only 12.24 percent of Barry County voters turned out for the April 7 election.

All of Tuesday's election results can be found on page 6.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: