Voters head to polls next week

Thursday, April 1, 2010

Contested school board races headline the April 6 general election ballot. Of the six school board elections that will take place in southern Barry County, half feature contested races.

Incumbent candidates for the Exeter R-VI, Southwest R-V and Purdy R-II school boards are facing opposition from challengers this spring. Incumbents who serve the Cassville R-IV, Wheaton R-III and Shell Knob school boards are running unopposed.

Exeter R-VI School Board incumbents Melvin Lacey and Eric O'Neill will face off against challengers Tracie Cole and Lisa Newman, and Southwest R-V School Board incumbents Robert Shockley and Bobby Stephens are facing opposition from challenger Angie Corn.

At Purdy, six candidates are vying for two seats on the R-II Board. Incumbent Tracy Tate will be joined by Mike Roller, Angela Moore, Edward Richard Mareth, Lenni Wood and David Young on the ballot. Incumbent Kelly Hayes did not file for re-election.

Cassville R-IV School Board incumbents Greg Allen and Hal Smith and Wheaton R-III School Board incumbents Dan Goostree and Kendall Haynes will retain their seats.

Shell Knob School Board member Rusty Rickard is also running unopposed. Fellow incumbent Danny Street did not file for re-election. His seat will be filled by new candidate Jonathan Gray.

Municipal elections

Area voters will also decide one contested municipal election.

Cassville South Ward Alderman Terry Heinz will face off against challenger Greg Allen. North Ward Alderman Dennis Baker did not file for re-election. His seat will be filled by new candidate Darrell Ledenham.

The Butterfield City Council will retain its current council members. Incumbents Tony Cope, mayor, Carrol Hayes, east ward alderman, and Frances Hobbs, west ward alderman, are the only candidates who filed for the upcoming election.

Exeter South Ward Alderman Jeff Scott and North Ward Alderman Keith Johnson are running unopposed, and in Purdy, Ward One Alderman Rex Coffey and Ward Two Alderman Kenneth Real will retain their seats on the city council.

Seligman will also retain its current city council. Jerry Montgomery, mayor, Michael Steen, east ward alderman, and Latisha Pippin, west ward alderman, are running unopposed. Wheaton East Ward Alderman Donnie Pierpont and West Ward Alderman Stacy Beck will also retain their seats.

The Washburn City Council will welcome two new council members. Ray Hayworth, west ward alderman, will be replaced by Gerald Hinde, and Sherry Cox, east ward alderman, will be replaced by Mary Roller. Hayworth and Cox did not file for re-election.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: