1963 champs congratulate EHS Lady Tigers

Thursday, April 9, 2009
Barbecue held in honor of state champions Photo by Kerry Mattingly The Exeter community hosted a celebratory barbecue for the 2009 Exeter High School Lady Tiger state champions on April 4. Members of the 1963 Exeter Tigers state champions attended the celebration. Both squads posed for a photo in the Exeter gymnasium during the event. Members of the 1963 team who are pictured above include: Terry Moore, Jim Cox, Jim Cowherd, Sherrill Cassity, Allen Moudy, Gary Hopkins, Johnnie McNabb, Perry Epperly, Claude Brown and John Edie. Lady Tiger team members pictured above include: Jenna Thomas, Nicholle O'Neill, Abbey Scott, Sarah Staples, Chelbie Kern, Peggy Clark, Devon Boyke, Sydney Newman, Lindsay Kidwell, Hailey Fields, Brianna Varner, Shelby Bowman, Katie Chadd, Whitney Edie, Destani Stensrud, Ashton Scott and Coach Jason Cole. Absent from the photo is Kasie Scott, Byron Tucker and Jerry Swearingen. The late Johnnie Beatty and Tim Mattingly were also members of the 1963 championship team.

View 1 comment
Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. Please note that those who post comments on this website may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.
  • I wish to request copy of photo regarding the 1963 Exeter High School basketball champions. I was a member of that team until moving to another town. I would have been on that team had my parents not moved away. Thank you.

    Paul Cameron

    351 Roberts Street

    Ste. Genevieve, MO 63670

    Home ph.(573)883-7593

    Work ph. (618) 758-2881 ext. 109

    -- Posted by pcameron on Tue, Apr 21, 2009, at 11:50 AM
Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: