Cassville voters elect two new aldermen

Thursday, April 9, 2009

On Tuesday, local voters elected two new aldermen to the Cassville City Council. Challengers Bill Hill and Mark Pry were winners over incumbents Pete Landstad and Sue Brattin.

Voters elected Hill over Landstad for an open north ward alderman seat. Hill received 134 votes compared to Landstad's 76 votes. Jo Ellen Fielding, who announced her withdrawal from the race earlier this year, received 16 votes.

Pry was elected to the south ward alderman seat currently held by Brattin. Pry received 80 votes compared to Brattin's 47 votes.

Purdy voters chose incumbent Rex Coffey over challenger Scott Redshaw for an open ward one alderman seta. Coffey received 23 votes and Redshaw received 11 votes.

Exeter and Washburn residents selected several council members by write-in votes. All write-in candidates must be verified before they can assume office.

Exeter voters awarded Jim Morse a two-year north ward alderman seat. Keith Johnson was chosen to fill a one-year north ward aldermen term on the Exeter City Council.

Washburn residents elected John Tiedeman as mayor by awarding him 12 write-in votes. Incumbent Scott Young, who did not file for re-election, received 10 votes.

Voters also awarded one write-in vote each to Brian Rose, Judy Brooks, Sara Brattin and Richard Brinkman for a two-year east ward alderman seat on the Washburn City Council.

School board races

Cassville R-IV patrons elected one incumbent and one new candidate to three-year terms on the school board. Incumbent John Sullivan received the most votes with 660. He was followed by new candidate Carolyn Bowen, who received 583 votes.

The board's other incumbent, David Haddock, received 506 votes, which was not enough to win him another term on the board.

Southwest R-V School Board patrons supported incumbents Daniel Dalton and Robert Catron over challengers Dustin Mabry and Arlus "Wayne" Walden.

Catron received the most votes with 185. He was closely followed by Dalton, who received 179. Mabry earned 111 votes, and Walden tallied 97 votes.

The Shell Knob School District also awarded its incumbent candidates three more years on the board. Lisa Fielder won 152 votes, and Bob Stewart earned 107 votes on Tuesday. Challenger Susan B. Beck received 94 votes, which was not enough to secure a seat on the board.

Other races

Local voters re-elected John Starchman and Jan Thomas to the Barry County Health Department Board of Trustees. They will be joined by Linda (Bass) McBride, who will replace Pauline Gage.

Area residents also elected Lindy Lombard and Bill Shiveley to the Barry County Hospital Board. Shiveley received 1,433 votes, and Lombard received 871 votes compared to Shirlee Hicks' 583.

Wheaton bond issue

Wheaton voters overwhelmingly approved a $1.2 million bond issue that will finance a drinking water system improvement project. The issue received 59 "yes" votes and 10 "no" votes.

Overall, only 12.08 percent of Barry County voters turned out for the April 7 election.

All of Tuesday's contested election results can be found on page 24 of this week's Cassville Democrat.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: