Cub Scouts receive recognition at annual Blue & Gold banquet

Thursday, February 19, 2009

Cub Scout Pack 76 hosted its annual Blue and Gold Banquet on Feb. 4 at the American Legion Home in Cassville.

The highlight of the event was the Arrow of Light ceremony, which marked the promotion of six young men from Cub Scouts to Boy Scouts. Honored Scouts included: Zach Thomas, Will Edmondson, Jacob Holz, Delane Hopkins, Dustin Simms and Cory Lane. All six of these young men are members of Webelos II, whose leaders are Cindy Thomas, Renee Hopkins and Bill Simms.

The Arrow of Light is the highest honor a Cub Scout may earn and is the only badge that carries over to Boys Scouts.

Thomas, Edmondson, Holz, Hopkins and Simms received Super Achiever awards for obtaining all 20 badges possible for a Webelo.

Other Cub Scouts who received badges during the ceremony are listed below by group:

* Webelos 1: Kyle Cheek, Charlie Seymour, Braden Banham, Jesse Hursh, Ryan Greenstreet, Jordan Greenstreet, Austin Trent and Dane Sibley. Their leaders are Chris Seymour and Cary Cheek.

* Bears: Ethan Caddell, Jacob Selleck, Garret Knight, Ryan Lane, Larry Dickson, Mike Dickson, Grant Davis, Kyle Sibley and Caleb Tucker. Leaders are Tina Selleck and Nikki Caddell.

* Wolves: Bently Broadwolf, Dalton Blake and Zane Moore. Leader: Nikki Caddell.

* Tigers: Casey Hickson, Nate Tucker and Drake Reese. Leader: Tina Selleck.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: