Cassville girls fifth at Lady Comet Classic

Thursday, January 29, 2009

The Cassville Ladycats beat Crane by a 12-point margin on Saturday, 46-34, and sewed up fifth place at the Lady Comet Classic at Marionville. Hannah Elkins led Cassville with a strong 28-point performance, and the Ladycats improved to 9-8 on the season.

"We played the consolation game without Marti (Richmiller), and the kids really stepped up, played hard and made some good decisions down the stretch," said Cassville Coach Chris Shore.

Cassville won its consolation-bracket game with Marionville on Thursday, Jan. 22. The Ladycats led by as many as 20 late in the third quarter and pulled away to win big by a 52-26 margin.

Elkins, of Cassville, led all scorers with her 22 points. Other Ladycat scorers were: Gail Edie 11; Emily Orrell 9; Richmiller 5; Kennadi Howard and Ariel Oswald 2 each; and Jaime Everett, 1.

Marionville's Hanna Reavis scored 12 for Marionville.

Cassville's lone loss of the tournament was to Pleasant Hope. The PH coaches scouted Cassville's inability to shoot from the perimeter against Mt. Vernon, and the Lady Pirates packed in a tight zone throughout their contest with the Ladycats. By holding Cassville to dismal 10-for-43 shooting from the field, Pleasant Hope won the opening round game of the tournament 42-29.

Even with the poor shooting, the Ladycats managed to pull within six points in the third quarter, but Pleasant Hope responded with a three-point play and Cassville never seriously threatened after that.

"We were very disappointed," said Coach Shore. "We did not play well."

Elkins again led Cassville with 17 points, while Orrell, Edie and Richmiller contributed 4 points each.

Mt. Vernon defeated Ash Grove 43-36 for first place at Marionville, and Miller beat Pleasant Hope 66-58 for third. Elkins was selected to the All Tournament team.

The Ladycats will host Carl Junction on Monday and travel to Lamar on Thursday, Feb. 5 for two back-to-back Big 8 games.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: