Elections to feature five contested races

Thursday, January 29, 2009

The upcoming April general election will feature five contested races. Several new candidates filed for municipal and school board races this month.

Of the six school board elections that will be held in southern Barry County, three feature contested races.

Incumbents John Sullivan and David Haddock will face off against challenger Carolyn Bowen in the Cassville R-IV School Board election.

At Southwest, four candidates are vying for two seats on the R-V board. Incumbents Danny Dalton and Robert Catron will be joined by Dustin Mabry and Arlus "Wayne" Walden.

In Shell Knob, district patrons will select two candidates from a ballot list that includes incumbents Bob Stewart and Lisa Fielder and challenger Susan B. Beck.

Incumbents who serve two local school districts are running unopposed. Natalie Moseley and Sammy Hudson will retain their seats on the Exeter R-VI School Board, and Doug Goostree and Bobby Banks will return to the Wheaton R-III School Board.

Purdy R-III School Board President Randy Henderson is also running unopposed. Although fellow incumbent Curtis Schallert did not file for re-election, the race has attracted one new candidate, Kenny Terry.

Municipal elections

Only two of the seven upcoming municipal elections will feature contested races. Seligman, Exeter, Wheaton, Washburn and Butterfield incumbents will retain their seats on the local councils.

Cassville incumbent Sue Brattin will face off against challenger Mark Pry in the south ward alderman race. The north ward alderman race features three candidates, incumbent Pete Landstad and challengers Jo Ellen Fielding and Bill Hill. Mayor Tracy Holle will be running unopposed for a second term.

In Purdy, incumbent Rex Coffey will be challenged by Scott Redshaw for a one-year term as ward one alderman. Incumbents Steve Roden, ward one alderman, Ron Dutra, mayor, and Ken Real and Wayne Rupp, ward two aldermen, are all running unopposed and will retain their seats on the council.

The Seligman City Council will retain its current aldermen. Incumbents James L. Bottorff, west ward alderman, Danny Joe Hendrix, east ward alderman, and Mayor Duane Corn have been the only candidates to file in Seligman.

Exeter South Ward Alderman Rhonda Scott and Mayor Rusty Reed are running unopposed. Exeter voters will also fill a one-year north ward alderman seat and a two-year north ward alderman seat. No candidates have filed for either of those races, and those posts will be filled by write-in candidates.

In Wheaton, Mayor Donnie Powell and Aldermen David Shockley and Naomi Young will retain their seats on the city council.

Butterfield East Ward Alderman Gary Florer and West Ward Alderman Lupe Meza will also retain their council seats.

The Washburn municipal race has attracted only one candidate. Incumbent Stacy R. Day, west ward alderman, has filed for the upcoming election. Mayor Scott Young and East Ward Alderman Brian Rose did not file for re-election. Those seats will be filled by write-in votes.

The upcoming general election is scheduled to be held on April 7.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: