School boards to be honored next week

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Each year, school districts across Missouri recognize and honor more than 3,600 men and women who volunteer to serve their communities on local school boards.

"Local school board members are called on to be an important part of the policy-making process for their districts and are often asked to help make tough decisions about educational programs, facilities and personnel," said Jerry Lingo, Purdy R-II School District superintendent. "Their services help make sure that decisions about our public schools are made as close to the needs of our children and communities as possible and serve as examples for our young people of the excellent tradition of volunteering."

During School Board Recognition Week, which is Jan. 25 through Jan. 31, local residents are encouraged to recognize the men and women who have been elected by constituents to serve their communities.

"The goal (of School Board Recognition Week) is to build awareness and understanding of the important function an elected board of education plays in communities and schools," said Jim Orrell, Cassville R-IV School District superintendent. "All Missouri citizens are asked to recognize the important contributions of these men and women and focus attention on the vital role they play."

Local board members who serve the public schools located in Barry County are listed below with their years of experience.

Cassville R-IV School Board: Greg Allen, 14 years; Danny Buchanan, four years; Rob Gripka, one year; David Haddock, six years; Becky Henningson, one year; Hal Smith, two years; and John Sullivan, 21 years.

Exeter R-VI School Board: Melvin Lacey, nine years; Bobbi Vanzandt, nine years; Natalie Moseley, three years; Sammy Hudson, nine years; Jeston Scott, four years; Eric O'Neill, two years; and Kerry Mattingly, one year.

Purdy R-II School Board: Curtis Schallert, 18 years; Kelly Hayes, eight years; Ronnie Veith, seven years; Randy Henderson, six years; Mike Bennett, four years; Russ Neill, four years; and Tracy Tate, two years.

Shell Knob School Board: Bob Stewart, 19 years; Danny Street, five years; Lisa Fielder, four years; Rusty Rickard, two years; Howard Trimble, two years; Roger Pinnell, one year; and David Steinmann, one year.

Southwest R-V School Board: Danny Dalton, six years; Robert Shockley, eight years; Robert Catron, seven years; Bobby Stephens, two years; Albert Pendergraft, four years; Pete Rose, one year; and Jeremy Bernard, one year.

Wheaton R-III School Board: Bobby Banks, three years; Landon Brattin, one year; Dan Goostree, two years; Doug Goostree, four years; Kendall Haynes, three years; Larry Prewitt, four years; and Lewis Royer, two years.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: