Few candidates file for school board

Thursday, January 8, 2009

The upcoming April school board elections have attracted only two new candidates and five incumbents so far. Two of the six local school board elections feature contested races.

Incumbents John Sullivan and David Haddock have filed for re-election to three-year terms on the Cassville R-IV School Board. The race has also attracted one new candidate, Caroline Bowen.

Southwest R-V School Board President Danny Dalton has filed for a new three-year term on the board. New candidate Dustin Mabry has filed for another three-year term that will be vacated by Robert Catron, who has not yet re-filed for election.

Incumbent Natalie Moseley has filed for re-election to a three-year term on the Exeter R-VI School Board. No candidates have filed for the other open school board seat. Sammi Hudson will be leaving the board this year if she does not re-file.

Purdy R-II School Board President Randy Henderson is seeking three more years on the board. Incumbent Curtis Schallert has not yet refiled for the upcoming election.

No candidates have filed for the Wheaton R-III School Board or the Shell Knob School Board, which both offer two three-year terms. Doug Goostree and Bobby Banks will be leaving the Wheaton School Board, and Bob Stewart and Lisa Fielder will be leaving the Shell Knob School Board if they do not file for re-election.

Filing for municipal and school board offices opened on Dec. 16, 2008. Candidates must file for election by Jan. 20. The election is scheduled to be held on April 7.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: