Filings slow for April election

Friday, January 2, 2009

As of Dec. 29, the upcoming April municipal election has attracted very few new candidates and only six incumbents at four of the seven local cities have filed for re-election.

The Cassville city election features the area's only contested race so far. Incumbent Sue Brattin has filed for re-election and she will be challenged by newcomer Mark Pry for her south ward alderman seat.

Current mayor Tracy Holle has filed for another term. She is currently running unopposed. No one has filed for the north ward alderman's seat held by Pete Landstand.

Incumbent Duane Corn is seeking another two-year term as Seligman's mayor. West Ward Alderman James L. Bottorff and East Ward Alderman Danny Joe Hendrix have also filed for re-election to two-year terms.

Exeter Mayor Rusty Reed has filed for re-election. The upcoming municipal election will also fill a one-year north ward alderman seat that was vacated when Brenda Adkins resigned in September, and a pair of two-term south ward alderman seats currently filled by Jim Morris and Rhonda Scott.

Due to a large number of resignations that occurred over the last two years, Purdy voters will be required to fill five council positions. Mayor Ron Dutra, who was appointed in May, has filed for re-election. No candidates have filed for the open alderman seats, which include a pair of one-year terms and a pair of two-year terms.

Wheaton Mayor Donnie Powell and aldermen David Shockley and Naomi Young are up for re-election in April. None of the incumbents have filed so far.

Mayor Scott Young, East Ward Alderman Brian Rose and West Ward Alderman Stacy Day will also leave the Washburn City Council this year if they do not file for re-election.

Filing for municipal offices opened on Dec. 16. Candidates must file for election by Jan. 20, 2009. The election is scheduled to be held on April 7. School board filings will be published next week.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: