All-Ozark 7 honors announced

Thursday, December 4, 2008

Area coaches selected the 2008 All-Ozark 7 Conference volleyball team recently.

The team was led by Whitney Edie who was named Player of the Year. A senior middle hitter, Edie led the Tigers to a perfect 6-0 league record and more than 20 wins.

The first team was led by three unanimous selections in Wheaton senior Haley Goostree, Verona junior Jori Dodson and Southwest junior Marisa Fletcher. Other members of the first team included: junior Shelby Bowman, of Exeter; senior Brooke Forgery, of Wheaton; and junior Beth Bingham, of Verona.

Wheaton, which won its district, finished second in the standings with a 5-1 mark, while Southwest, Verona and McAuley all tied for third with 3-3 records. Thomas Jefferson ended up 1-5, while Purdy was 0-6.

Members of the second team included: juniors Sara Weatherman and Samantha Pierce, of Wheaton; junior Brittany Street and senior Jay Stephens, of McAuley; senior Tasha Barnett, of Southwest; and senior Kasie Scott, of Exeter.

Honorable mention selections were: freshmen Jessica Smith and Jenna Chadd, of Verona; senior Halley Riesmney, of Thomas Jefferson; sophomore Sonya Kilongkilong, of McAuley; junior Stacie Pendergraft, of Southwest; and Abbie Scott, of Exeter.

Tracy Prigg, of Wheaton, was named Coach of the Year.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: