Democrat elected to county post

Thursday, November 6, 2008

For the first time in four years, Barry County voters have chosen a Democrat to serve in county office.

Wayne Hendrix defeated incumbent Eddie Davison in the race for southern commissioner. Hendrix received 4,155 votes (53.6 percent) to Davison's 3,593 (46.35 percent). The last Democrat to serve Barry County was Red Edens, who was defeated in 2004 by Davison.

Republican Sheriff Mick Epperly easily won a fourth term in office, capturing 62.16 percent of the vote. Epperly received 8,857 votes while his challengers, Randall Munday, a Democrat, and Steve McClure, an Independent, collected 3,125 and 2,202 votes respectively.

In the race for northern commissioner, Frank Wash-burn, another Republican incumbent, soundly defeated his challenger Georgia Longley-Wenell. Washburn, who earns his second term in office, won 71.31 percent of the vote with 4,506 ballots cast in his favor. Longley picked up 1,804 votes.

All the other county races were uncontested. Assessor Sherry Smith Reynolds, Administrator Barbara White and Coroner Jim Fohn, all Republicans, received 12,125, 11,827 and 12,269 votes respectively.

The results for the Barry County 911 Emergency Services Board were mixed. Incumbent Harold Schelin and newcomer Mike Redshaw were elected to serve as northern commissioners, receiving 2,955 and 3,087 votes respectively. Incumbent Bob Lombard came in third with 2,770 votes, which was not enough to reclaim his seat.

In the seven-person contest for two southern commissioner seats on the 911 Board, Steve McClure and Richard Asbill were the top vote getters with 2,985 and 2,244 votes respectively.

Barry County results for national and state office were not surprising.

The majority of Barry County voters (66.39 percent) supported the John McCain/ Sarah Palin ticket with 9,758 votes cast in favor of the Republicans. Democrats Barack Obama and Joe Biden earned 4,630 Barry County votes.

The vote for governor was closer among county voters. Republican candidate Kenny Hulshoff tallied 7,156 votes to 6,928 for Democrat Jay Nixon.

David Sater, R-Cassville, ran unopposed for his second term as state representative. He received 12,390 votes. State Senator Jack Goodman, R-Mt. Vernon, won 11,895 votes without a challenger.

Almost 71 percent of registered voters in Barry County turned out to vote on Tuesday. A total of 14,769 ballots were cast in the general election. Complete, but unofficial Barry County election results, can be found on page 10.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: