Purdy hires staff members

Thursday, June 19, 2008

The Purdy R-II School Board hired two new employees and voted to release one faculty member from a teaching contract at the board's regularly scheduled meeting on May 19.

After a 21-minute executive session to discuss the employment of certified and non-certified staff, the board hired Joe Hoffman as a day-time custodian and Sue Henderson as a special education aide for the 2008-09 school year.

The board also voted to release Carl Wethington, middle school science teacher, from a teaching contract for the 2008-09 school year.

In new business, the board accepted a $2,100 bid from Ronnie Swadley Construction, of Purdy, for a sidewalk project that includes plans to build a new sidewalk to connect the preschool building to the elementary playground.

The board also reviewed a $2,351.50 bid from Sherwood Services, of Purdy, a $2,480 bid from Three-Way Construction, of Purdy, and a $2,660 bid from Harris Construction, of Cassville.

In other business, the Purdy R-II School Board:

* Postponed a report on the high school FFA.

* Approved the district's annual contract with the Southwest Area Career Center for the 2008-09 school year.

* Heard administrative reports, which included information on the high school business department, the district's gifted program, annual attendance percentages and retiring faculty and staff members.

* Received a thank you card from the Purdy High School FBLA and sponsor Kay Wright for paying for the lodging, registration and one meal during the state FBLA competition held in Columbia this year.

* Approved a $3,900 Missouri School Board Association (MSBA) membership fee for the 2008-09 school year.

April board meeting

The Purdy R-II School Board re-employed 37 faculty and staff members during its regularly scheduled meeting on April 21.

After an executive session to review and discuss the employment of certified and non-certified personnel, the board voted to re-employ the following staff members: Rana Antle, Judy Craig, Connie Goetz, Shelly Johnson, Julia Keeler, Kimberly Nelson, Sarai Salazar, Robin Sullivan, Stacie Beck, Shirley Burdette, Debra Carpenter, Carolyn Gage, Teresa Lowery, Margaret Roller, Betty Smith, Robert Jones, Ruth Bowers, Dottie Graves, Rebecca Greenway, Barbara Payne, Katrina Williamson, Sue Rupp, Glenn Terry, Brenda Williams, Tami Short, Cesar Reyes, Robert Balmas, Ken Bowers, James Dent, Neal Dent, Ron Gray, Barbara Gardner, and Christy DelosSantos.

The board also voted to re-employ Gloria Veith, Gayle Wormington, Susan Henderson and Renae Neill, AmeriCorp director.

In other business, the Purdy R-II School Board:

* Accepted the resignation of Bill Robberson, maintenance and custodian, and Kristine Cook, special education aide.

* Approved the career ladder program.

* Heard administrative reports.

* Appointed Randy Henderson as board president and Ronnie Veith as board vice president during a reorganization meeting.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: