First woman mayor elected in Cassville

Thursday, April 5, 2007

Cassville residents made history on Tuesday night, electing the city's first female mayor.

Long-time educator Tracy Swofford Holle soundly defeated three-term incumbent Jim Craig to become Cassville's top elected official. Holle attracted 59 percent of the votes with 207 ballots cast in her favor. Craig collected 141 votes.

Sue Brattin collected 64 percent of the votes to earn a fifth term as Cassville south ward alderman. She defeated Jan Anthony who received 46 votes to Brattin's 87. North Ward Alderman Pete Landstad did not have any opposition in Tuesday's race and earned 158 votes.

Cassville's mayor was not the only incumbent to lose his bid for another term in office. Wheaton voters chose to shake up city government by electing a new mayor and a new west ward alderman.

Incumbent mayor David Harris was unseated by challenger Donnie Powell. Harris garnered 46 votes while Powell attracted 96 votes.

Ethan Block, who currently serves as one of Wheaton's west ward alderman, was defeated by Naomi Young. Block grabbed 32 votes with Young narrowly edging him out of office with 36 votes. David Shockley ran unopposed for another term as east ward alderman. He received 70 votes in the April 3 election.

Seligman incumbent Jason Scates lost his bid for a full-term on the Seligman City Council. Challenger Danny Joe Hendrix was able to beat out Scates by two votes for the east ward alderman seat. Scates collected 22 votes and Hendrix received 24.

James Bottorff was re-elected to another term as Seligman's west ward alderman. He claimed 30 votes as compared to his challengers, Robert Hughes and Eric Freeman, who received 16 and 12 votes respectively.

The position of Seligman mayor was to be filled by write-in vote. That information was not available at presstime.

The only other contested city races were in Exeter.

Voters re-elected James "Rusty" Reed to another term as mayor by casting 89 ballots in his favor. Challengers Stan Tackett and Ron Nelson received 5 and 33 votes respectively.

In the race for north ward alderman, Jimmie L. Morse made another successful bid for office. Morse received 25 votes while challenger Jeff Myers collected 20.

School board races

In a five-way race for Southwest R-V School Board, incumbent Robert Shockley received the most votes with 290 and was followed closely by Bobby Stephens with 283 votes.

The board's other incumbent, Jane Hobbs, received 134 votes, which was not enough to win her another term on the board. Linda Bass and Nickie Stanley also ran for school boardand both received 181 votes.

Purdy school district voters selected Tracy Tate and Kelly Hayes as their school board representatives. Hayes, the only incumbent running, received 277 votes and Tate garnered 276. Kenny Terry and James Thomas came in third and fourth with 238 and 123 votes respectively.

Incumbent Melvin Lacey was the top vote-getter among Exeter R-VI School Board candidates. He received 216 votes. He will be joined on the board by newcomer Eric O'Neill who grabbed 181 votes. Kelly Lee also ran for school board and attracted 99 votes.

A complete tally of election results appears on page 10 of this week's Cassville Democrat.

The April 3 election produced a 16.92 percent voter turnout. Of Barry County's 19,405 voters, only 3,284 chose to participate in Tuesday's election.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: