County voters to fill city, school board posts

Thursday, March 29, 2007

The April 3 general election will feature three contested school board races as well as competition for council and mayoral positions in four cities.

School board elections

The Southwest R-V School Board election has attracted the most interest with five candidates filing for two open positions on the board.

Incumbents Jane Hobbs and Robert Shockley are joined on the ballot by challengers Linda Bass, Nickie Stanley and Bobby Stephens.

In Purdy, district voters will be selecting two candidates from a four-person ballot. Kelly Hayes is the lone incumbent seeking re-election. Other candidates are Kenny Terry, James Thomas and Tracy Tate.

Exeter voters will be choosing two board members from a slate of three candidates who include incumbent Melvin Lacey and challengers Kelly Lee and Eric O'Neill.

School board elections will not be held in Cassville, or Wheaton. In those districts, only two candidates filed for the open school board seats.

These candidates who automatically earn spots on the school board include: Greg Allen and Hal Smith, Cassville R-IV School Board; and Kendall Haynes and Dan Goostree, three-year terms, Wheaton R-III School Board; and Lewis Royer, one-year term on the Wheaton R-III School District.

Shell Knob District voters will be filling one of their school board spots by write-in vote. Incumbent Danny Street was the only candidate to file for the school board. His name will appear on the ballot along with space for voters to list their choice for write-in candidate.

City elections

In Cassville, incumbent Jim Craig, seeking his fourth term as mayor, will face off against challenger Tracy (Swofford) Holle, a long-time Cassville educator who is hoping to break into local politics.

Incumbent south ward alderman Sue Brattin will run against Jan Anthony, who is trying for a second time to earn a seat on the Cassville City Council. North ward alderman Pete Landstad is running opposed.

Exeter voters will be choosing their mayor from among three candidates, including incumbent James "Rusty" Reed and challengers Stan Tackett and Ron Nelson. In the race for Exeter north ward alderman, the ballot includes incumbent Jim Morse and newcomer Jeff Myers. Incumbent south ward alderman Rhonda Scott does not have any competition in her bid for re-election.

In Wheaton, incumbent mayor David Harris will be challenged by Donnie Powell, a former city alderman, and incumbent Ethan Block will face off against Naomi Young for the west ward alderman's post. Incumbent David Shockley is running unopposed for another term as east ward alderman.

Both council seats in Seligman are contested. Incumbent James Bottorff will be challenged by Robert Hughes and Eric Freeman for west ward alderman, and incumbent Jason Scates will face competition from Danny Joe Hendrix for the east ward seat.

No one has filed for Seligman mayor, so that post will be filled by write-in candidate. Two-term mayor Duane Corn chose not to run for re-election.

In Purdy, none of the races are contested. Mayor Robert Moser and aldermen Wayne Rupp and Steve Roden will retain their seats. Washburn Mayor Scott Young and aldermen Brian Rose and David Pendergraft will also return to city office without opposition.

Butterfield city council members Letha Todd, west ward alderman, and Gary Florer, east ward alderman, are also unopposed on the April ballot.

Additional coverage

This week, the Cassville Democrat is publishing candidate questionnaires for contested school and city races. These appear on pages 16 and 17 of the newspaper. Election ballots are published on pages 18 and 19.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: