Athletes honored at winter awards program

Friday, March 9, 2007

Cassville High School held its annual Winter Sports Awards Night on Monday, March 5 in the CHS commons area. The purpose of the event was to honor girls and boys basketball players and cheerleaders for their performances during the 2006-07 winter sports season.

Awards were presented by Chris Shore, girls head basketball coach, Randy Robertson, boys head basketball coach, and Julie Kelley, cheerleading sponsor. They were assisted by Brian Wilbanks, girls junior varsity coach, Jeremy Faubion, boys junior varsity coach, and Kyle Woods, freshman boys coach.

Boys basketball

• Highest Field Goal Percentage: Dannon Rose (55.4 percent).

• Highest Free Throw Percentage: Ryan Schlichtman (77.8 percent).

• Defensive Award: Chris Born.

• Most Steals/Leading Scorer/Highest Three-Point Percentage: Tim Orrell (58 steals, 303 points and 34.1 percent)

• Most Assists: Clint Reed (63).

• Rebounding Leader: Kelby Haynes (152).

• Sixth Man Award: Cory Howard.

• Enforcer Award: Ethan Couch.

• All-Big 8 Conference honorable mention: Tim Orrell.

• Senior Recognition: Tim Orrell and Chris Born.

• Rotary MVP: Tim Orrell.

Seniors: Chris Born** and Tim Orrell***.

Juniors: Colt Beck, Caleb Beuterbaugh, Kelby Haynes***, Marcus Henry*, Blaine Hobbs, Cory Howard*, Clint Reed*, Dannon Rose* and Ryan Schlichtman*.

Sophomores: Zach Brasher, Aaron Brooks, Ethan Couch*, Aaron Jamieson and Ryan Pace.

Freshmen: Mathew Angel, Robbie Cooper, Taran Holt, Caleb Hynes, Luke Hynes, Justin Mills, Travis Northern, Kyle Rhea, Garrett Roney, Trevor Tanner, Ricky Vanderpool and Mason Wilks.

Filmer: Brian Poremba.

Girls basketball

• Scoring/Free Throw Percentage: Julie Cupps (14 points per game and 70 percent free throw percentage).

• Two-point Field Goal Percentage Leader: Abby Munoz (52 percent).

• Three-point Field Goal Percentage Leader: Gabby LeCompte (44 percent).

• Rebounds Leader: Brittany Vollenweider (6.6 per game).

• Miss Wildcat: Jessie Gripka.

• Hustle Award: Brittney Wilbanks.

• Sixth Man Award: Emily Orrell.

• 1,000-Point Club and All-Big 8 Conference first team: Julie Cupps.

• Rotary MVP Award: Julie Cupps.

Seniors: Jessie Gripka***, Abby Munoz*** and Julie Cupps****.

Juniors:: Brittney Gatley**, Gabby LeCompte**, Misty Long*, Brittany Vollenweider*** and Brittney Wilbanks**.

Sophomores: Kyra Asbury, Ariel Oswald, Stacie Rambo and Layne Rose.

Freshmen: Gail Edie, Hannah Elkins, Belinda Long, Emily Orrell*, Marti Richmiller, Mandi Thompson, Destiny Trotter and Gabby Vincent.

Managers: Mary Nunley***, Liz Haney* and Shelbi Shipman*.


• Scholar Athlete: Abby Quinn.

• Leadership: Tricia Brown.

• Fabulous Freshman: Courtney Cook.

• Cheerleaders Choice: Abby Quinn.

• Most Spirited: Natalie Cline.

• Commitment: Natalie Ward.

• Upcoming Star: Nanci Young.

• 110% Award: Kristi Whitcomb.

• All-Around: Brittni Cook and Kyleigh Houston.

Seniors: Tricia Brown****, Kyleigh Houston**** and Abby Quinn***.

Juniors: Courtney Abramovitz***, Brittni Cook* and Kindra Williamson***.

Sophomores: Paige Hukill* and Natalie Ward**.

Freshmen: Natalie Cline*, Courtney Cook*, Kristi Whitcomb* and Nanci Young*.

Asterisks (*) behind the name indicate years the athlete has lettered.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: