Meadows named Club Champion

Thursday, July 20, 2006
Championship golfer D.J. Meadows is smiling after a great week of golf. This weekend, he captured the Cassville Golf Club championship and last week he finished as runner up in the 16-18 age division of the Missouri Junior Amateur Championship played at Hickory Hills Country Club in Springfield. In the Junior Amateur tournament, Meadows, a 2006 graduate of Cassville High School, finished one stroke behind champion Kevin Kring, of Springfield. Meadows shot a 143 in two days of golf on the par 72 course. In the Cassville championship, Meadows shot another 143 to capture club bragging rights for 2006. The talented golfer will continue his golf career in college this fall when he will play for Pratt Community College in Pratt, Kan. Democrat Photo (b)

The 2006 Cassville Golf Association Club Championship was held this past weekend at the Cassville Golf Course.

D.J. Meadows, a 2006 Cassville High School graduate who is headed to play college golf at Pratt Community College, earned the title of Club Champion by shooting a 143 (72-71) over two days of play.

Other Championship Flight winners were: Dennis Ledgerwood, second place, 150 (74-76); Dylan Vogt, third place, 153 (77-76); Chuck Edie, fourth place, 153 (76-77); and Rob Gripka, fifth place, 154 (79-75).

A Flight winners were: Danny Vanzandt, first place, 159 (79-80); Hal Every, second place, 159 (79-80); Gary Fields, third place, 162 (83-79); Jeff Banks, fourth place, 162 (80-82); and David Treadwell, fifth place, 165 (84-81).

Winners in the B Flight were: Jim Roe, first place, 163 (86-77); Shannon Haddock, second place, 164 (85-79); Jack Cargile, third place, 164 (84-80); and Kermit Allen, fourth place, 169 (84-85).

C Flight winners: Jeff Culver, first place, 176 (93-83); Denver Douglas, second place, 177 (93-84); and Marlee Edie, third place, 180 (93-87).

D Flight winners: Bob York, first place, 183 (97-87); Bob Callahan, second place, 188 (94-94); and Tony Barrett, third place, 190 (97-93).

Overall winners in the ladies division were: Becky Henningson, first; Janie Watson, second; and Leta Higgs, third.

Ladies Net winners were: Jackie Rose, first; Bonnie Shelton, second; and Mary Lee Meyerkord, third.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: