R-IV bond issue passes by large margin

Thursday, April 6, 2006

Southwest, Purdy and Exeter voters give nod to school board incumbents

By Lisa Schlichtman

Cassville R-IV School District voters overwhelmingly supported a $7.1 million bond issue proposal in Tuesday's election.

District patrons voted three to one in favor of Proposition #1, which will provide for construction of a new intermediate school for fourth and fifth grade students and major additions to the existing high school. A total of 1,560 votes were cast in favor of the proposition and 467 against.

Proposition #2, which will allow the R-IV District to shift 20 cents of its debt service levy into the operating levy, also received strong voter support with 1,438 "yes" votes and 575 "no" votes cast for the issue.

A third proposition that would adjust the school boundary line between Exeter and Cassville school districts passed in Cassville but failed in Exeter. The boundary issue, which involved a single family, will now be taken up by a Board of Arbitration appointed by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.

School board incumbents, for the most part, were treated well in Tuesday's election.

Patrons of the Southwest R-V School District returned Danny Dalton and Robert Catron to the board. Dalton received the most votes (400) and Catron received the second most with 301. Other candidates were: Mike Clifton, 281; Bobby Stephens, 261; Doug McCasland, 186; Jason Clay, 54; and Wayne Walden, 48.

Wheaton voters elected Ronnie Senseney to a one-year term on the R-III Board. Senseney, who was appointed to the board this past year, received 119 votes while David Shockley received 114, Charles Tichenor received 89 and Donna Youngblood received 66.

Doug Goostree will return as a member of the R-III School Board after receiving a total of 237 votes a the three-year term on the board. He will be joined by Bobby Banks who earned 173 votes. Other candidates were: Gail Pierce, 168; J.P. Hickman, 83; Adam Chapman, 27; and Travis Clark, 9.

Veteran board members Randy Rex Henderson and Curtis Schallert were re-elected to the Purdy R-II School Board, receiving 156 and 135 votes respectively. Challenger Tracy Tate came in a close third with 120 votes.

Exeter voters re-elected Sammy Hudson to the school board along with newcomer Natalie Moseley, who was the top vote getter with 81. Hudson received 80 votes. Other candidates were; Sandra Hayworth, 63; Brian Utter, 49; and Shirley Fletcher, 21.

In Shell Knob, voters approved a proposal allowing the district to increase the operating tax levy ceiling to $3.43 per $100 assessed valuation and fully eliminate the Proposition C rollback. The issue passed with 294 voting in favor of the proposal and 164 against.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: