Cosmo is First Baby of 2006

Thursday, January 19, 2006

The Cassville Democrat's First Baby of 2006 has a name few will forget. Cosmo Kent Rhoads was born at 12:33 a.m. on Jan. 2 at St. John's Hospital in Springfield to Dustin and Rhonda Rhoads, of Cassville. He weighed in at 7 pounds, 11 ounces and measured 21 inches.

Cosmo is Dustin and Rhonda's first child. His proud grandparents are Patty Davidson, of Eagle Rock, Keith Davidson, of Cassville, and Patty and Murray Rhoads, of Cassville.

"He's a good baby," said Rhonda. "He sleeps a lot, sleeps and eats, and he has tons of facial expressions, mainly when he's sleeping."

In recounting the day of Cosmo's birth, Dustin said he had driven all the way to Kansas City to see a Chiefs game. When he arrived in Kansas City, Rhonda called to say the baby was on the way, and Dustin had to drive all the way back to Springfield.

"Cosmo wanted to be the first baby," said Dustin. "He came two weeks early."

By winning the First Baby Contest, Cosmo and his parents will receive a bundle of prizes from area businesses who sponsored the annual contest.

Gifts include: a supply of diapers from Security Bank; a $50 savings account from Freedom Bank; a surprise package from First Baptist Church; a baby ring from Tomblin's Jewelry; a $50 savings bond from First State Bank; baby's first teddy bear from Designs by Debbie; a $50 gift certificate from Bank of Seligman; baby's first haircut from The Mane Station; a $25 gift certificate from Wal-Mart; special baby gifts from Chez Notre; a $100 savings bond from Commerce Bank; a porcelain tooth fairy collectible and a treasure box from Cassville Dental; a surprise baby gift from St. John's Hospital-Cassville; and a baby book and a year's subscription from the Cassville Democrat.

Cosmo is the Cassville Democrat's 11th "First Baby" winner.

Previous first babies include: Kallistha Cabico Manuel Morrow, Monett, 2005; Ryan Alan Lawrence, Seligman, 2004; Robert Chisum Massey, Exeter, 2003; Andrew Joel Prier, Golden, 2002; Devon Lee Clevenger, Exeter, 2001; Sky Millenium Dill, Cassville, 2000; Jose Raymundo Castillo, Jr., Exeter, 1999; Kyle Blake Martin, Cassville, 1998; Levi Raymond Clevenger, Purdy, 1997; and Jacob Scott Hall, Cassville, 1996.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: